Camera Gear, part 2 ~ Or the tools in the toolbox continued…

I have been asked once again by people getting into photography; what’s the best camera and what do I use? There seems to be this ever-present mystery in the eyes of the general public (and quite a number of photographers!) is that there is some special gear still out there that can create the perfect image and that what ever they have isn’t good enough. Maybe this is what is fueling the latest mumblings going on in my brain.

Wait, what?

Yep, even found myself feeling the same way, but for a different reason.

These days I have been wondering what the perfect setup for me would be when I cover next year’s Sperry Top-Sider Race Week here in Charleston SC and a race week in the Bahamas. The second part of this dilemma, is that for the sailing race in the Bahamas, we’ve been invited to set sail from here in Charleston aboard our friends’ beautiful 43’ Beneteau. In becoming shot-term live-a-boards, space will be a premium, so bringing along all sorts of gear that I would usually have (like the EF400mm 2.8L II that’s not much smaller or lighter than a horses leg!) will not work.

With this limitation in place, I’ve been having some serious gear lust for the Olympus OM-D pro system. They have built a pro-level micro four thirds system that is dust proof, water proof and even freeze proof, and have just come out with another pro zoom lens; the 40-15mm f/2.8 Zuiko (equivalent of 80-300mm on Full Frame) . I had already tested the fantastic 12-80mm f/2.8 Zuiko lens (equivalent to a 24-80mm on full frame) on the OM-D EM-1 and was quite impressed with its sharpness and clarity. I have already heard from my friend, Olympus Visionary Jay Dickman, that this was even better! And to round things out, they are planning to roll out the pro-line Zuiko 7-14mm f/2.8 & 300mm f/4 for micro four thirds sometime next year. Four lenses giving me a focal range of 14mm to 600mm in full frame equivalency plus two pro bodies, all waterproof, weighing in at less than half of my normal kit.

Pretty sweet. But would it also cover my needs for the rest of the photographic work I do? Maybe not.

I look at photographic gear in terms of buying in to a “system”. In other words; what kind of lighting systems will it interface with? It gets old when you have to cobble gear together in an attempt to make things work reliable, and in commercial work repeatability is essential. Right now Canon has the best OEM small flash system available, complete with built in wireless transmission. No need to purchase third party accessories in an attempted work around. There may be in time, something available from Quantum that talks with the Micro Four Thirds systems of Olympus and Panasonic, but they have been working on it for a few years with no signs of a release.

So I guess this is my way of explaining my answer to the original question in depth. The best camera system is the one that covers what you, the photographer, need it to do very well. And in my case, more tools in the toolbox!

One more thing to think of when looking at upgrading cameras or making your foray into a new gear purchase, is how it feels in your hands. No matter how technologically advanced the latest camera and lens combo is, if you aren’t comfortable with the way your gear handles, you won’t enjoy creating images with it.

I hope you all have a Happy Thanksgiving and don’t forget to make those holiday captures with the ones you love!

Next time; The ProActive Photographer ~ Photographic Inspiration

Ciao!Olympus_OMD_EM1 001 20141119_Gibbes_Luncheon_Preview-021 2014 Sperry Top-Sider Race Week Friday 20141120_NanoScreen_Orion_web-017 SI Solutions, Inc., Columbia SC

Leave a Reply

