The ProActive Photographer; Photographic Inspiration

Over the years I have enjoyed looking at the images made by master photographers and artists, and I remain in awe of what has been created. I do this for inspiration and to better my craft. Seeing through the eyes of Yousuf Karsh, Steve McCurry, John Singer Sargent, Gregory Heisler, Jay Dickman, Art Wolf, Renoir, Richard Avedon, Pablo Picasso, Joe McNally and so many others (my list is huge and there are so many I owe much to!) broadens my personal view. It also allows me to shift my way of seeing things in new ways, which has given me much appreciation for the every-day!

What keeps me inspired is the ability to tell a story through the images I create. What inspires you? What stories do your images tell?

20140203_AJFBS 0031

Ghislaine Maxwell, founder of the TerraMar Project, a nonprofit on a mission to create a global ocean community to speak up for the high seas.

Next time; Photographic goals for 2015

Magnolia blossom at the historic Magnolia Cemetery in Charleston SC

Magnolia blossom at the historic Magnolia Cemetery in Charleston SC

Corporate portrait, Mario Nardone

Corporate portrait, Mario Nardone

Newly renovated Colorado state capital dome. All of the copper plates that make up the dome were repaired or replaced and shipped to Italy along with gold mined in Colorado for gilding, then shipped back for installation.

Newly renovated Colorado state capital dome. All of the copper plates that make up the dome were repaired or replaced and shipped to Italy along with gold mined in Colorado for gilding, then shipped back for installation.

Brilliant lecture by "Catch me if you can" Frank Abignale

Brilliant lecture by “Catch me if you can” Frank Abignale

Technician setting up the new Orion medical fluid delivery machine

Technician setting up the new Orion medical fluid delivery machine

Ageless beauty

Ageless beauty

Athletic beauty in the human form, pro surfer

Athletic beauty in the human form, pro surfer

"Obey Giant" Sheppard Fairey's Andre the Giant looks across downtown Charleston

“Obey Giant” Sheppard Fairey’s Andre the Giant looks across downtown Charleston

Leave a Reply

