Does using pro photo gear really matter?

The amazing Profoto B4 Battery generator and Pro B head kit for rent from High Output Charleston

The amazing Profoto B4 Battery generator and Pro B head kit for rent from High Output Charleston

I admit it; I’m a gear horse. I love having and using the best possible tools to create my photographic images so I get asked frequently if have top line gear matters, and in a nutshell, yes it does. But just because you can’t afford the latest gear doesn’t mean you still can’t use it. There are rental houses across the globe that can get any photographer loaded for bear with just about anything you can think of. I’m very fortunate to have two of them here in Charleston SC; Shoot Rentals (www.shootrentals.com) and High Output Charleston (www.HighOutputCharleston.com) and today I’ll highlight High Output.

Most who know me can agree that I’m a disciple of light, whether using speedlites, studio strobes, LED panels or good old-fashioned worklights with compact fluorescent bulbs. I wish I had the budget to purchase the top-line Profoto lighting gear, but it’s not in the cards at the moment. So I do the next best thing; rent. You may be asking yourself “If you have all the other gear including professional mono-lights, why Profoto?”, It comes down to performance and consistency of the light. If I am shooting product and have the luxury of waiting a few seconds for the lights to recycle, my Calumet / Bowens lights are awesome. Working with a subject that changes expression or moves may be a different story. Have you ever taken a photograph only to notice an even better expression a split second later? You take the shot and realize that the light didn’t fire. The moment is gone. Or maybe the next shot the lights haven’t fully recycled but still fired without as much gusto, leaving your next image underexposed. Maybe not so much of an issue if this is your hobby, but a major problem if you do photography for a living!

I don’t know too many people that have an extra eight to sixteen-grand lying around to pick up a new Profoto B4 Air 1000 or two, and I certainly don’t. And I think even if I did, does this make good financial sense even if I did have the cash? For $145 I can rent almost $9k in top-line Profoto gear for the day. If I have the right client and want to use a $4500 Broncolor Para 177 modifier to get the exact look they are after, I can rent that too (and keep $4250 in my pocket for other expenses).

Does this mean I use this gear on every shoot? Nope, my gear including Speedlites, Quantum Q-Flashes and my trusty old Calumet Travelites can handle the every day stuff. But it is sure nice to know I can lay my hands on the best gear at a moments notice without the expense to own & maintain day in and day out!

(Special thanks to Liz Bruer for the loan of her daughter Penny for the test!)

Consistent output & color out of the Profoto B4 Air 1000 kit, shot with the Canon 1Dx, 24-70 2.8L at almost 12 frames per second without missing a beat!

Consistent output & color out of the Profoto B4 Air 1000 kit, shot with the Canon 1Dx, 24-70 2.8L at almost 12 frames per second without missing a beat!

Consistent output & color out of the Profoto B4 Air 1000 kit, shot with the Canon 1Dx, 24-70 2.8L at almost 12 frames per second without missing a beat! Don't forget, this is a battery powered flash!

Consistent output & color out of the Profoto B4 Air 1000 kit, shot with the Canon 1Dx, 24-70 2.8L at almost 12 frames per second without missing a beat! Don’t forget, this is a battery powered flash!

Profoto_B4_kit-004 Profoto_B4_kit-005 Profoto_B4_kit-006 Profoto_B4_kit-007 Profoto_B4_kit-008 Profoto_B4_kit-009 Profoto_B4_kit-010 Profoto_B4_kit-011 Profoto_B4_kit-012 Profoto_B4_kit-013 Profoto_B4_kit-014 Profoto_B4_kit-015 Profoto_B4_kit-016 Profoto_B4_kit-017 Profoto_B4_kit-018 Profoto_B4_kit-019 Profoto_B4_kit-020 Profoto_B4_kit-021 Profoto_B4_kit-022 Profoto_B4_kit-023 Profoto_B4_kit-024 Profoto_B4_kit-025 Profoto_B4_kit-026 Profoto_B4_kit-027 Profoto_B4_kit-028 Profoto_B4_kit-029 Profoto_B4_kit-030 Profoto_B4_kit-031 Profoto_B4_kit-032 Profoto_B4_kit-033 Profoto_B4_kit-034 Profoto_B4_kit-035 Profoto_B4_kit-036 Profoto_B4_kit-037 Profoto_B4_kit-038 Profoto_B4_kit-039 Profoto_B4_kit-040 Profoto_B4_kit-041 Profoto_B4_kit-042 Profoto_B4_kit-043 Profoto_B4_kit-044 Profoto_B4_kit-045 Profoto_B4_kit-046

Leave a Reply

