A brave new world, and time for gear change!

I can’t believe it is already 2017. It even sounds strange saying “Two Thousand Seventeen”…

After going through quite a bit of intensive testing and comparison, I have decided to go with the Olympus OM-D system to replace all my Canon gear. I may have given up some of the ultra low light capability with the 1Dx, but I have also given up more than half the weight as well. I’m finding that the M. Zuiko lenses love being shot wide open, which winds up giving me those extra two stops of light I was looking for at the higher ISO’s.

But enough of the techie-talk, I’m absolutely loving taking the Olympus gear out to shoot with! It’s like going from driving a three-quarter ton, nine passenger van to a Miata. The handling and responsiveness of the new OM-D E-M1 Mark II is off the charts. It is light enough to carry all day long without fatigue and yet is one of the easiest cameras to use well.

I’m also able to do something that I’ve never been able to do before; walk around and hand hold (without a tripod) at an effective 840mm! I was shooting early morning and was able to keep up with a little Kingfisher that was out in search of breakfast. The more amazing part of this is that I was shooting at a slow shutter speed and the focus was spot on in a backlit situation. I am not a wildlife photographer by any means, and yes I do photograph motorsports, sporting events and action, which are all much more predictable than my little feathered friend!

I’m also finding that I don’t need my high-powered studio lights as much any more. In fact, I am finding ways to cut the light and replacing some of them with lower powered options for portraits! I also like the fact of how quiet and unobtrusive the Olympus system is. Where as before when I would be shooting with the old gear, just the shear size of it called attention, and once I pressed the shutter button and the loud “Ka-Thunk” echoed out, there would be no going unnoticed. Now I feel more like a photo-ninja!

All this to say that I’m feeling like my 16 year-old self, wanting to get out and create more memorable photographs, and having more fun doing it too! I’m looking forward to this next step in my photographic journey, traveling smaller, lighter and smarter. If you all have any questions about the gear, please let me know!

Until the next time, be well!

Leave a Reply

